Recall election date set

A Recall Election will decide the status of the president of Creighton Community School board of education Tuesday, Aug. 18.

The date was set by the board of education at their regular July meeting Monday night, after JoAnn Fischer, Knox County clerk and election commissioner, sent notice on June 16.

The board was required to set a date for the election between July 30 and Sept. 13, according to Nebraska statute.

The polls will be open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. on Aug.18 at the Walter T. Larson Senior Center, 705 Peabody Avenue in Creighton. All registered voters who reside in the school district are eligible to vote in the election.

The district lies in both Knox and Antelope counties. Those who desire to register must do so in their county of residence, at either the Knox County clerk’s office in Center or the Antelope County clerk’s office in Neligh. Both offices will remain open until 6 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 7, the final day to register prior to the election. Voter registration forms are also available at Creighton’s city hall.

Early Voter Ballots will be issued by the Knox County clerk’s office staff and will be available approximately 20 days prior to the Recall Election, according to Fischer. Questions may be addressed with Fischer at 402-288-5604 during business hours.

The ballot will have one question, “Shall Dan Morrill be removed from the office of the Creighton School Board?”

The process leading up to the Recall Election began in April when Jody Fuchtman of Creighton filed an affidavit requesting petitions. The signed petitions were returned June 10. Fischer said the petitions contained 164 valid Knox County residents’ signatures. Sixteen valid signatures from Antelope County citizens who live in the Creighton district were verified by Lisa Payne, Antelope County clerk and election commissioner.

The number of signatures required for a recall election was 165, which was determined according to state statute, equating to 35 percent of the votes received by the top vote-getter in the last school board election.

Morrill was elected president of the board during the board’s January 2015 meeting.